Dashboards are the primary reporting tool used to view model results from Slope. A dashboard is a collection of saved queries and visualizations that are displayed together as tiles in a single view.
- Projection Details
- Action Selector
- Dashboard Selection Panel
- Dashboard Filters
- Dashboard Display Pane
The dashboard selection panel displays all available dashboard reports that you can view. These are categorized into the following 3 groups. Click on the name of any dashboard to load it and display the results.
|System Dashboards||Dashboards created by Slope Software and made available for use by all users. You cannot edit or modify these dashboards.|
|Shared Dashboards||Dashboards that were created by you or someone else and are shared with all other users in your company.|
|Your Dashboards||Dashboards that you have created that are not shared with anyone else. Only you have access to view these.|
|Shared Looks||Shared Looks allow users to create a shared reusable query and visualization (similar to a tile) which can be used on multiple dashboards. Looks that are used to pull data via our API must be setup as a Shared Look.|
|Your Looks||Looks that you have created that are not shared with anyone else. Only you have access to view these.|
System dashboards contain built-in filters such as Projection ID. The filters appear under the Dashboard's name. The values in these filters can be edited to change the data being displayed on the dashboard. To edit the filter value, simply click into the filter and enter the desired value(s). For string fields like Product and Portfolio name there will be suggested values based upon the Projection ID entered in the Projection ID filter.
Dashboard Display Pane
This is where the dashboard content will be displayed and loaded. All tables and visualizations will be automatically loaded from the results of the projection you are viewing.
Exploring the Data Used in a Dashboard
Dashboards are also starting points for further exploration. You can click on the title of a tile to explore its underlying data (if you have the appropriate user permissions). You can also further explore the data by clicking on the action selector in the top right corner of each tile and selecting the 'Explore From Here' option.
See Exploring Results for more details on how to use the exploration view.
You can download the data from individual tiles or download the entire dashboard to further work with the results on your personal computer. Data can be downloaded in multiple formats including CSV, Excel, PNG (image of visualization) or as a PDF version of the dashboard. You can download data for an individual tile by clicking on the tile action selector located in the top right corner of each tile and selecting Download Data from the menu.
You can also download all the data in the report or download the dashboard as a PDF or CSV by clicking on the Gear icon in the top right corner of the dashboard pane and selecting the appropriate download option.
Editing a Dashboard
If you have appropriate permissions, you can also edit existing dashboards. You can begin editing by clicking on the three dots icon located in the upper right corner of the dashboard and selecting Edit dashboard.
Note: System Dashboards are not editable but you may copy them and then make edits to the copy.
Once you have selected "Edit dashboard" you can make the following changes to your dashboard:
- Add a tile
- Enable cross-filtering
- Change the dashboard's refresh settings under general
- Change the dashboard filters to collapsed or expanded
- Edit individual filters (see below) using the three dots next to the filter name
Sharing a Dashboard
To share a dashboard, click on the Share icon found in the top right corner above the dashboard.
When this icon is selected, the following message appears:
A link to the URL for the displayed dashboard is now on the clipboard and can be pasted and shared. The current filter selections chosen before clicking on the Share icon will be reflected in the results shown in the results displayed via the link.
Note that if the projection gets deleted for any reason, the link will no longer be functional and an error message will appear.